Notices for Users of the Albums

1. New Albums and some changes


The latest genera Albums added to the Operation Wildflower Site are the ones on Metalasia, Brabejum and Bauhinia. This means that photos and stories of plants belonging to these genera already on the Site have been moved from the more general Albums called Shrubs and Trees into their own new Albums under Genera. 


There is a genus Album in every case where enough material has been accumulated to warrant a stand-alone grouping of photos and stories. There are now more than 160 such Albums on genera of South African plants. The biggest ones (most photos) belong to the genera Crassula, Euphorbia, Pelargonium and Aloe. Keep watching, more will be added! If there is no genus Album yet on the plant you are looking for, check under Types or the Search Box.


In order to access all items on a plant of interest, the Search Box should be used, entering the botanical name of the plant. Most photos and stories on a particular plant are likely to be posted under Genera, (or if there are only few of them, in the conglomerate categories under Types). Habitat, Regions or Parks and Gardens may also contain some material on a species searched for, showing in the list generated when using the Search Box. The latest Parks and Gardens Album is the one on the Quiver Tree Forest.


2. Want to talk about an Album Item?


There is a new way of communicating with the Editor of this Site regarding any of the Album Items.
Comments, questions, corrections, information and suggestions can be put to the Editor by using the following email address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Please ensure that the Album Item concerned is clearly identified. Type its exact title as well as the Album Name in the Subject Line of your email. Please also state your name.


Similarly, communication regarding the functioning or technical aspects of the Site can be directed to the Webmaster at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..




Where do aloes grow naturally?

The following information on the natural distribution of the aloe species of the world was found in the book: Aloes, The Genus Aloe, edited by Tom Reynolds and published by crc press.

Several countries in Africa and the Middle East have even fewer indigenous species of aloes, down to those that have only one aloe species growing indigenously (see the book for this detail).

Some species occur naturally in only very restricted areas, e.g. Aloe peglerae that is found on part of the top of the Magaliesberg in the Gauteng and Northwest provinces of South Africa. Other aloe species may be found naturally spread over the indigenous vegetation of several countries. 

Aloe vera again, has now been planted by so many people for so long over such a large part of the world, that its exact origin (somewhere in the Middle East) is no longer quite certain.


Country Number of Aloe Species
South Africa  119
Madagascar 77
Kenya 55
Tanzania 40
Ethiopia 34
Somalia 33
Zimbabwe 27
Namibia 26
Yemen 26
Mozambique 25
Angola 24
Saudi Arabia 22
Zambia 19
Swaziland 18
Malawi 17
Uganda 16
DRC 13
Sudan 12
Botswana, Eritrea, Lesotho

















Who's Online

This week9010
This month2238

Botanical Gardens